Hommage

An hommage to Miss Marple, and particularly to Joan Hickson’s – dare I say it? – definitive Miss Marple in the 1984 – 92 BBC TV version.  Tony got me the complete set for Christmas years ago:  fabulous.  With the neck/shoulder now still needing a lot of rest, but not so sore that I can’t concentrate on anything, reclining on the sofa and diving into an orgy of Miss Marple is just what the doctor ordered.

Reminds me that I was pleasantly diverted by another female investigator a few days ago (see this post here) … any thoughts on parallels between Joan Marple and Lisbeth Salander to me on a postcard please …

Makes me realize I’m more drawn to female detectives in general – like Sara Paretsky’s V I Warshawski and Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak (thanks to Alix & Cherry for both recommendations) – whereas I’ve got no time at all for Rebus’ miserablism.

Leave a Reply

