Characteristics

I don’t know why I still let it go this long before I take action:  when my desk at home (and my room generally) fall into total disorder, it’s not long before my mind follows …

Anyway:  caught myself just in time, as the descent into madness started to gather pace;  and tidied stuff up.  Among the junk on the desk – bizzarely given its age (I’ve had since I was teaching in Berlin in the mid-80s) – I came across a neatly-clipped square of yellowing paper with this on it:

Characteristics

My American friends,

who claim Scottish ancestry,

have been touring Scotland.

In ten days they visited

eleven castles.  I smiled –

How American.

They said they preferred

the ruined ones.  I smiled again.

How Scottish.

Leave a Reply

