Rock ‘n Roll

rock n rollOne of last week’s things was this great production.  I saw the original in London, with my friend Andrew, when it came out a couple of years ago. 

Funny thing though:  although I was gripped by it all over again;  Tony wasn’t engaged by it at all, and left at the interval.  One of these things that (maybe) illustrates the few years’ age difference between us.  I can still remember the Cold War (and living in Berlin towards the end of it) … can even remember the Prague Spring itself, and event in succeeding years, although I was still pretty young at the time.  And of course I was in that ecstatic crowd of people on top of the Berlin Wall, hammering away at it, the night they opened the Brandenburg Gate.  So I’ve got the personal references still to care about it all.  But for people not much younger than me, it’s already dim and distant … a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away … etc.

Leave a Reply

